Chocolate Banana Bread

I decided to have a go at this chocolate banana bread last week – I had my Mum round so thought it couldn’t go wrong with her help. I am cursed with baking, as things never turn out right for me and my family normally take great pleasure in reminding me. This time however it was a real success and I am so proud I wanted to share it with you all. It was very easy to do and came out lovely and moist. It’s a Fay Ripley recipe, from her What’s for dinner? book, which I really like.

For a treat it makes a lovely tea-time dessert with custard – A winner in our house anyway!

Recipe:-

130g butter, softened

150g light brown sugar

3 ripe bananas (about 300g) peeled and mashed

1tsp vanilla extract

2 large free range eggs

250g plain flour

1tsp baking powder

1tsp bicarbonate of soda

150g chocolate chunks

3 tbsp milk

1) Preheat the over to 160 degrees (fan) and the butter or line a loaf tin.

2) Cream the buuer and sugar in a large bowl. Add mashed bananas, vanilla and eggs and whisk together.

3) Sift the flour, baking powder and bicarbonate of soda and mix well. Fold in chocolate and milk.

4) Plop into the loaf tin and bake for 50-60 mins till risen. Cool slightly in tin before turning out.

5) ENJOY WARM IF POSSIBLE!!!!! YUM YUM

3 thoughts on “Chocolate Banana Bread

  1. Hi there, we have both been chosen as the Tots100 top ten new blogs this month so I thought I’d pop over to say hello 🙂
    I totally love baking and love a good banana loaf, they always come out nice and moist so are a super cake to start baking with and they have banana in which makes it nice and healthy (well that’s what I tell myself anyway 😉 )
    If you have any baking questions don’t hesitate to contact me,
    Catherine x

    • Hello!
      Thanks for letting me know Catherine, had no idea, but it’s made me day!
      Going to take a peek at the others in the Top 10’s now –

      Need to bake another banana bread tonight as got family visiting tomorrow, hope it goes down well with them too!

      Thanks for your support
      x

Leave a Reply

